#tbt to College

The fact that I started college 20 years ago is still on my mind, so this week’s Throwback Thursday is another photo from my freshman year. It’s not the most flattering pic, but it cracks me up:

Freshman

The photo was taken after winter break, right when I was beginning to undergo sorority rush. I went into college without any thoughts about whether I would join a sorority or not, and by the time rush came around I figured I would at least give it a shot. So I went through a couple rounds of rush and I absolutely hated the process. Ultimately I made the choice to drop out of rush because I found the whole thing to be superficial, incredibly annoying, and not something I could see myself enjoying participating in from the sorority side of things. This photo pretty much encapsulates my attitude about the whole thing: crazy and silly. I know plenty of people who pledged sororities and liked their experience with them, but I very quickly realized that it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Comment

