#tbt To That Time I Got Jennie Garth’s Autograph

For this Throwback Thursday I’m pulling a photo from the vault in which my friend and I are getting Jennie Garth’s autograph during some sort of convention (maybe an auto show?) in St. Louis. I was in sixth or seventh grade, so this was in 1990 or 1991β€”a time when Beverly Hills, 90210 was SERIOUSLY HOT STUFF and celebrities appeared at conventions completely unrelated to their shows to sign autographs.

Jennie_Garth

That’s me in the big red glasses, seriously washed out by the flash, and my friend is in the purple sweatshirt getting Jennie’s autograph. I’d like to point out my excellent sartorial choices: a Polo shirt (which I think was pink) under a giant black sweatshirt and my favorite blue Umbro shorts, which were all the rage at the time. Meanwhile, Ms. Garth was in an adorable flower print dress and looked perfect, of course. I feel like she was wearing cowboy boots with the dress, but I might be making that up. I’d also like to point out the creeper in the hat behind my friend who’s staring intently at Jennie. Shudder.

I think I still have the autographed head shot somewhere, probably in my closet at my parents’ house. I’ll have to dig around for it next time I’m there!

Leave a Comment

