2015 Highlights: My Year in Review

2015 has turned out to be much better for me than 2014 was, and for that I’m grateful. Because I love making lists, I’ll share with you some of my highlights from this past year. In no particular order, these are some of my personal highlights of 2015:

Seeing my first wild orchid in the Oregon forest this past June (orchids attached to trees as decoration on hotel properties in Puerto Rico, Jamaica, and Florida don’t count).

IMG_5133

Fairy Slipper Orchid

Spotting the infamous painted bunting of Brooklyn.

Painted Bunting in Prospect Park, Brooklyn

Painted Bunting in Prospect Park, Brooklyn

Moving to a new apartment in a new neighborhood: I resisted the move SO HARD, but change turned out to be a wonderful thing. (Something to remember the next time I resist making a major change in my life).

Traveling to the Florida Keys in February. Islamorada, in particular, was incredible. (Our vacation pre-dated this blog, but I did write a couple posts about orchids we saw while in Florida. Note to self: figure out how to fix the photos on my orchid blog!)

Florida Keys

Florida Keys

Taking a kombucha-making class and brewing my own (we’re currently drinking our eleventh homemade batch!). Update: I began brewing batch number 12 this afternoon!

basket-scoby

Basket Scoby (photoshopped…duh. This guy doesn’t actually live in a jar in our fridge, thankfully.)

Taking a soy candle-making workshop and making my own candles.

IMG_5532

My own homemade candles!

Attending San Diego Comic-Con for the seventh year running (but let’s be honest, SDCC is a highlight every year.)

Comic-Con 2015

Comic-Con 2015

Attending my first Renaissance Faire!

New York Renaissance Faire

New York Renaissance Faire

Taylor Mac’s audience participation and profanity-filled show at Celebrate Brooklyn.

Danny Elfman’s The Nightmare Before Christmas at the Hollywood Bowl.

Scream-singing “Carry On My Wayward Son” at #NJCon’s Friday Night Karaoke with a few hundred Supernatural fans and some of the cast.

IMG_9811

Supernatural Friday Night Karoke

Walking the full Prospect Park loop for the first time—which I didn’t write about here, but I consider this to be a personal milestone.

Succeeding at my self-imposed 31 days of horror challenge in October (which I would like to repeat next year).

And, of course, starting this blog! I published my first post on February 17, and have already crossed the 100-post mark. Here’s to much more blogging fun in 2016. Thank you so much for reading!

Have a wonderful and safe holiday and New Year, everyone!

Leave a Comment

