Friday Five: Post No. 100

Happy Black Friday Day After Thanksgiving, all! I’m writing this post from my parents’ house in St. Louis. I hope you had a wonderful Turkey Day with your loved ones; I certainly did!

Before I start this week’s list of five things, I’d like to note that this is my 100th blog post! Hooray!

1. Flat White at Brunswick: my husband and I finally went to this cute Aussie cafe for breakfast last weekend. I’d been wanting to check it out, and it did not disappoint. Here’s my pretty (and delicious) flat white:

IMG_0584

2. Our sunset this past Sunday was RIDICULOUS. I was sitting at my desk, which is by a window, and when I turned my head the sky was positively lit up in neon purple and pink. Simply gorgeous.

IMG_0591

3. Temple Turmeric beverages: these can take a little getting used to, but I really enjoy them; I particularly like the Turmeric Pineapple Elixir.ย  Turmeric has a substance in it called curcimin, which is a good anti-inflammatory and antioxidant…so, I like to drink it to help ease any inflammation that may be going on in my gut due to IBD.

IMG_0608

4. FANCY OLD WINE! Every year at Thanksgiving, my dad busts out a moldy bottle or two of wine that he’s had for literally 30+ years. Last night he uncorked a magnum of 1982 Mayacamas Cabernet Sauvignon (this wine was older than my brother!), poured it through an aerator into a decanter, and served it up. It was very dry, with tobacco and chocolate on the palate and a long, nutty finish. YUM.

IMG_0623

5. The most 90’s file cabinet that ever existed: this thing now lives in my closet at my parents’ house. Back in high school I decorated it with stickers of some of my favorite things: CK One, Dave Matthews Band, No Doubt, and Pointfest, which was a music festival started in 1993 by the local alternative music station, 105.7 The Point. I’m pretty sure I attended Pointfests 3, 4, and 5 (though I seem to have a sticker from the original). The radio station still exists today and so does Pointfestโ€”according to Wikipedia they’ve done 33 of themโ€”and of course, The Point has gone back to playing music from the 90’s. Full circle!

IMG_0644

Leave a Comment

