Stitch Fix: August 2015 Review

My last Stitch Fix was basically a bust, but even so I moved up my delivery date again because I was eager to find out if I could get better stuff this time. After that disappointing Fix I decided not to input any notes at all for my stylist and see if it turned out any better—I wondered if my notes last time around were too specific and caused me to set my expectations too high. My ninth fix arrived yesterday at the same time as my tenth Birchbox (post on that coming soon!) and I tore into it to see what I got:

IMG_5550

The color and pattern variety looked very promising after the Great Mint Chocolate Chip Fix of July 2015. Here are my styling cards:

IMG_5549

As the stylist noted, she sent me a dress that I had Pinned, but she didn’t mention that she actually sent me a second item that I’d Pinned: the plaid sleeveless top. So it was promising to see that this stylist was paying attention!  🙂

The first item I tried on was the Soko Safford Bar and Chain Necklace ($48). I don’t get jewelry from Stitch Fix often, which is perfectly fine with me. I love jewelry but I’m pretty picky about it so I’m usually better off shopping for it on my own. However, my stylist nailed it with this adorable, simple necklace! (Note: click on any image to see a larger version.)

Soko Safford Bar and Chain Necklace - Stitch Fix

Soko Safford Bar and Chain Necklace - Stitch Fix

Not only is the Soko necklace cute, it’s handcrafted by artisans in developing countries using upcycled and recycled sustainable materials. Normally I wouldn’t spend almost $50 on a simple necklace like this, but I’m happy to support a company with a meaningful mission. SOLD!

Next up: the Dear John Lillie Cuffed Shorts ($58). These arrived uncuffed and I was a little confused by them at first because of it. I tried them on uncuffed and then cuffed to see how they looked both ways:

Dear John Lillie Cuffed Shorts - Stitch Fix

H&M top

Dear John Lillie Cuffed Shorts - Stitch Fix

The shorts definitely look better cuffed, and they fit me pretty well, but I wasn’t in love with them. Summer is coming to a close and I don’t particularly need to spend almost $60 on a pair of shorts I don’t love or need. The verdict? RETURNED.

I moved on to the Market & Spruce Leavenworth Sleeveless Top ($44) that I had Pinned, which I paired with the Dear John shorts like my stylist recommended:

Market & Spruce Leavenworth Sleeveless Top - Stitch Fix

Love it!! I also tried the cool girl half tuck that ladies are doing these days:

Market & Spruce Leavenworth Sleeveless Top - Stitch Fix

My half tuck needs some work, but it’s still a cute look. This shirt is so soft! Big win. Definitely SOLD.

Next up is the Skies Are Blue Venice Sleeveless Cardigan ($48), a pretty, lacy grey number. When I tried it on, though, I was not impressed with how it looked on me…it looked like I’m trying to hide a baby bump, which I’m not:

Skies Are Blue Venice Sleeveless Cardigan - Stitch Fix

Madewell tee, Banana Republic jeans

The drapey effect didn’t work well on my frame. Had this been a long sleeved cardigan I think it would have looked okay, but the bottom part was too wide and felt off balance with the sleeveless top. I think a more delicate knit would have worked better for a sleeveless cardigan like this—it was a little too chunky for the concept. I liked the idea of this piece, but unfortunately the verdict is: RETURNED.

Last but certainly not least is the Collective Concepts Willa Dress ($78) that I Pinned as a “cute fall dress.” The dress lived up to my expectations:

Collective Concepts Willa Dress - Stitch Fix

I paired the dress with the Soko necklace, though it looks just fine sans necklace. You can’t see the pattern well here, but if you look at the first pic in this post you’ll see that it’s a small leafy sort of pattern—very cute. I love the colorful trim around the bottom hem and the sleeves, and the defined waist is good for my straight-up-and-down figure. Overall, this dress feels very “me.” SOLD, obviously!

So, three out of five items ain’t bad. Had I kept all five items I would have spent $182 with the 25% discount, but I’m proud of myself for not keeping all five. I made sure to only keep the pieces that I loved this time around—I just didn’t see myself getting much wear out of the shorts or the cardigan. This time around my fix set me back $145 (bonus: I was able to use a $5 referral credit from another friend who signed up; thanks LVG!).

Speaking of referrals, I do have a nitpick. The website states that for each friend who signs up using your referral link you’ll get a $25 credit as soon as their first fix ships. However, they apply $20 of that credit toward your styling fee, which actually gets charged to your card when they start styling your fix—leaving you with a $5 credit. What doesn’t make sense to me, and this is the key, here, is that even if you don’t have a referral credit they deduct the $20 styling fee when you keep any items from a fix. Because of the way they promote their referral credits it sounds like you should get $20 off on top of that styling fee deduction. The way they’ve set this up is fine if you get a fix in which you send everything back, because the styling fee is covered by your referral credit and you aren’t out $20. But when you do keep an item that $20 credit seems to be lost. The referral credit is really more “$5 credit per referral, plus your styling fee is covered if you send everything back.” Right? Is my logic flawed? Am I overthinking this? (Probably.) I feel like they’re misrepresenting their referral credits—they should really say that you get $5 per referral if that’s the way they’re going to do it. [UPDATE: Being that I’m notoriously terrible with numbers, I went over the referral credit stuff with my husband and the way they communicate it is not misleading; I was wrong to think I should have gotten an additional $20 off on top of the styling fee deduction. However, the communication is confusing and could be done much more simply and transparently.]

On a side note, I was out at a local bar last night, waiting on line for the bathroom, when I spotted a girl wearing the cutout top that I almost kept from my last fix. I approached her and asked if she got it from Stitch Fix and she said yes! Apparently it’s taking over the world.  🙂

New to reading my Stitch Fix reviews? You can read my past reviews by clicking the links below:

Read my July 2015 Stitch Fix review

Read my May 2015 Stitch Fix review

Read my March 2015 Stitch Fix review

What is Stitch Fix?

Stitch Fix is basically getting a personal stylist to hand pick five items for you, including clothing and accessories, and ship them right to your front door.

How does Stitch Fix work?

Sign up at Stitch Fix and fill out a style profile by answering questions about your clothing sizes, what sort of styles you like (preppy, bohemian, trendy, classic, etc), colors you love or hate, styles you never want to see in a fix, and more. You can even specify a price range you’re willing to spend per piece. The style profile is pretty comprehensive, and they encourage you to include a link to your Pinterest style board (here’s mine) to help guide your stylist. You can request specific items via your Pinterest board or on leaving a note for your stylist on the Stitch Fix website, though there’s no guarantee you’ll get them.

Then you schedule a fix. You can get a fix as often as you’d like: monthly, every other month, for an upcoming special occasion, etc. When the appointed date arrives, you get a box filled with five items picked just for you by your stylist, along with a note from your stylist and cards showing suggested outfits for each piece. You get to try on each piece and decide whether you want to keep it or send it back. If you keep any items (even just one), they’ll deduct a $20 styling fee from the total cost. Even better? If you keep all five items, you get a 25% discount on everything! You basically only pay the $20 styling fee if you send everything back. What happens when you don’t like some of the items? That’s totally fine. Stitch Fix makes it very easy for you to return whatever you don’t want to keep. Each fix includes a pre-addressed, postage-paid envelope so you can seal the return pieces inside it, then drop it in any USPS mail box within three business days. Schedule your first Fix today!

SF_Bottom_Affiliate_Banner

2 thoughts on “Stitch Fix: August 2015 Review

    • I pinned them from the SF blog. I also follow them on Pinterest & Instagram so that I can watch for pieces that I like! You’re so right about the plaid shirt! 😛

      Like

Leave a Comment

