Stitch Fix: July 2015 Review

Let me begin my latest Stitch Fix review by saying that I moved this delivery up about two weeks because I wanted to get some new clothes before my trip to Comic-Con next week. I literally exclaimed “YAY!” when I opened the front door of our new building and found my box sitting there. I had put some very specific requests in my notes to my stylist this time around, and I’m going to tell you right off the bat that this fix was a pretty big disappointment. I had the same stylist for my two most recent fixes but they gave me a different stylist this time around, so maybe that has something to do with it?

Here’s a sneak peek at what I got in my eighth Stitch Fix box:

IMG_5199

I wish I could access the notes I had input for the stylist, but Stitch Fix doesn’t seem to save those in your profile. To the best of my recollection my requests were pretty close to this:

  • a blue-and-white striped tank that I had seen on Stitch Fix’s blog
  • it’d be great to get another casual tank in a jersey or linen material
  • nothing with sleeves, because it’s too hot for anything else
  • would love a maxi skirt in a chevron or other print
  • pieces in blues, purples, or greens would be great (but red is good too)
  • I’m open to trying a romper
  • and I’m not 100% sure I put this, but I’m pretty confident that I also asked for a fun, short summery dress

So let’s take a look at the styling idea cards:

photo-74 (1)

I really only got one item that I requested: a maxi skirt. The one tank-ish top is not what I would consider casual, but I guess that’s subjective. The stylist definitely followed my requests for blues and greens, but stuck with that color scheme pretty hard…too hard. Three out of the five pieces include aqua and brown, a fourth is straight up mint green, and the fifth is all blue and green. I love mint chocolate chip ice cream to death—it’ll always and forever be my favorite flavor—but I wasn’t in the market for a box full of mint chocolate chip clothes:

IMG_5227

A quick note about photographs: as I’ve mentioned, we just moved into a new apartment last Saturday and are still in the process of unpacking and organizing. Please excuse the mess!!

Okay! The first piece I tried on was the Eliza J. Marcia Maxi Dress ($98) because the floral pattern definitely caught my eye. This dress is beautiful and it fits me perfectly:

Eliza J. Marcia Maxi Dress - Stitch Fix

My only issue with this maxi is that it’s not a “throw on and run around” kind of dress—it actually feels like more of a special occasion piece. The only situation in which I could see myself wearing it and not feeling grossly (but in the prettiest way possible) over-dressed would be a summer wedding. Unfortunately I don’t have any more weddings coming up this summer—had I received this dress in my May fix I absolutely would have worn it to the early June wedding I attended. I truly do love this dress, but the $98 price tag is steep for something I don’t see having an opportunity to wear any time soon. The verdict? RETURNED.

Next up are the Papermoon Morena V-Neck Tee ($38) and the Gilli Alina Maxi Skirt ($58). My stylist’s note said that the skirt “looks fantastic with” the tee, so I paired them together for photos:

Papermoon Morena V-Neck Tee and Gilli Alina Maxi Skirt - Stitch Fix

The mint green of the tee is not a great color on me; I feel like it makes me look a tad sickly. I also don’t like the fabric, which feels sort of 90s space-dyed. The fit is not great on me, either—it’s drapey but not in a very flattering way. I tried tucking the front hem of the shirt into the skirt and bloused it out a bit, but the effect was still pretty meh:

Papermoon Morena V-Neck Tee and Gilli Alina Maxi Skirt - Stitch Fix

The tee verdict? RETURNED.

I didn’t realize how absolutely batshit-seizure-inducing the maxi skirt’s pattern looked onscreen until I imported the photos to my computer. I promise the skirt doesn’t look that insane in person (you can see the pattern better in the first couple photos in this post). The maxi is exactly what I asked for and I love the pattern and colors. It’s pretty lightweight, very swishy, and great for summer. The verdict? SOLD.

The next piece is the 41Hawthorne Renesme Graphic Print Dress ($78). Did someone actually semi-name this dress after Edward and Bella’s vampire baby? LOL. When I first spotted the dress on the enclosed styling cards, I thought it looked way too similar to a Market & Spruce wrap dress that I kept from a very early fix, possibly even my first fix. So for comparison, I tried the M&S dress on (which I love) and snapped a pic today:

Market & Spruce Wrap Dress - Stitch Fix

And here I am in the new 41Hawthorne wrap dress (the pattern which is best seen in the closeup pics earlier in this post):

41Hawthorne Renesme Graphic Print Dress - Stitch Fix

Aside from fitting well, the 41Hawthorne dress is unfortunately a whole lotta NOPE for me. First, it’s too similar in style and color to the M&S dress above. Second, the fabric is not nearly as soft and jersey-drapey-feeling as the M&S dress. In fact, the fabric is a touch yucky feeling to me (like super polyester-ish). Third, it has freaking 3/4 length sleeves. I specifically requested nothing with sleeves in this fix and not only did they send me a dress with sleeves, but it’s practically long sleeved. Definitely not a summer dress! Last but not least, there are some loose threads near the bottom hem that make the $78 price tag feel like entirely too much:

photo-75

The verdict? RETURNED (obviously).

My last piece is the Renee C Armen Crew Neck Blouse ($44). My stylist noted that the blouse “has an edgy cut out in the back that looks fantastic with denim skinny jeans.” I took her advice and threw on a pair of dark skinnies for the pic:

Renee C Armen Crew Neck Blouse - Stitch Fix

I do like this blouse; it’s one of those things I wouldn’t look at twice in a store but when Stitch Fix sends it to me I actually consider it. The main pattern is nice and I like the contrasting pattern around the bottom edge too (but the aqua and brown color scheme again…really?!). The arm holes don’t fit me well, though—they sort of gape a little. While I like the back cut out in theory, on me it becomes more of an unwanted peep hole for the top of my bra strap (the white thing you see sticking out is the tag):

Renee C Armen Crew Neck Blouse cutout detail - Stitch Fix

It’s possible this blouse might fit other body types or shapes much better. I really did consider keeping this top, but I didn’t want to spend $44 on something that doesn’t fit me all that well. Also, if I’m being honest, the deciding factor on this one was principle: I had asked for a casual tank in a jersey or linen material, and this top was not what I had in mind. The verdict? RETURNED.

I do hate to say it, but this was my worst Stitch Fix experience to date. In fact, this is the first time I’ve only kept one out of five items. I know I can’t expect the stylists to always send everything you ask for, but I feel like the stylist disregarded most of my requests. Maybe I was too specific, but I don’t feel like I asked for anything unreasonable (especially the note about no sleeves—I mean…it IS July, for god’s sake). I was really looking forward to using some birthday money on fun new clothes for summer, but the pieces I got were very much a letdown. I kept five out of five items in my two most recent fixes, so I suppose that also raised my expectations. I guess you can’t win ’em all.  😛

The best part about this fix? The fact that with the $20 styling fee deduction and the $30 credit in my account applied to my total, I spent $8 on the maxi skirt. I’d call that a win for sure!

I don’t want my poor experience this time around to discourage any of you readers from giving Stitch Fix a try for yourself! I have had plenty of good fixes in the past, two of which you can read about here:

Read my May 2015 Stitch Fix review

Read my March 2015 Stitch Fix review

I’d also like to give a shout-out to two friends, L and E, who recently got their first fixes using my referral link, thereby giving me a bit of credit to spend on my purchases. Thank you, ladies! 🙂

What is Stitch Fix?

Stitch Fix is basically getting a personal stylist to hand pick five items for you, including clothing and accessories, and ship them right to your front door.

How does Stitch Fix work?

Sign up at Stitch Fix and fill out a style profile by answering questions about your clothing sizes, what sort of styles you like (preppy, bohemian, trendy, classic, etc), colors you love or hate, styles you never want to see in a fix, and more. You can even specify a price range you’re willing to spend per piece. The style profile is pretty comprehensive, and they encourage you to include a link to your Pinterest style board (here’s mine) to help guide your stylist. You can request specific items via your Pinterest board or on leaving a note for your stylist on the Stitch Fix website, though there’s no guarantee you’ll get them.

Then you schedule a fix. You can get a fix as often as you’d like: monthly, every other month, for an upcoming special occasion, etc. When the appointed date arrives, you get a box filled with five items picked just for you by your stylist, along with a note from your stylist and cards showing suggested outfits for each piece. You get to try on each piece and decide whether you want to keep it or send it back. If you keep any items (even just one), they’ll deduct a $20 styling fee from the total cost. Even better? If you keep all five items, you get a 25% discount on everything! You basically only pay the $20 styling fee if you send everything back. What happens when you don’t like some of the items? That’s totally fine. Stitch Fix makes it very easy for you to return whatever you don’t want to keep. Each fix includes a pre-addressed, postage-paid envelope so you can seal the return pieces inside it, then drop it in any USPS mail box within three business days. Schedule your first Fix today!

SF_Bottom_Affiliate_Banner

Leave a Comment

