My First Stitch Fix Review

A year or so ago, a friend told me about a website called Stitch Fix: a subscription service that assigns you a personal shopper who will select five pieces of clothing and accessories for you based on your style preferences. Because I’m admittedly not the most stylish person (when I shop I tend to buy the same types of clothing over and over again), I decided I had to try this service out—and I love it!

How does Stitch Fix work?

When you sign up at Stitch Fix, you’ll fill out a style profile by answering questions about your clothing sizes, what sort of styles you’re attracted to (preppy, bohemian, trendy, classic, etc), colors you love or hate (for example, I almost never wear pink and definitely don’t do animal prints), styles you never want to see in a fix, etc. You can even specify a price range you’re willing to spend per piece. The style profile is pretty comprehensive, and they encourage you to include a link to your Pinterest style board (here’s mine) for stylist inspiration. You can even request specific items via your Pinterest board or on the Stitch Fix website, though there’s no guarantee you’ll get them.

You can schedule a fix as often as you’d like: monthly, every other month, for an upcoming special occasion, etc. Then you get a box filled with five items picked just for you by your stylist, along with a note from your stylist and cards showing suggested outfits for each piece, like this:

IMG_4437I always save these outfit idea cards because I’m not the most creative when it comes to dressing myself; I tend to just throw on jeans and a t-shirt. Stitch Fix has totally encouraged me to think outside the box (heh) and to begin putting a little thought into outfits as opposed to simply getting dressed because I have to.

When your fix arrives, you get to try on each piece and decide whether you want to keep it or send it back. If you keep any items (even just one), they’ll deduct a $20 styling fee from the total cost. Even better? If you keep all five items, that $20 styling fee is deducted along with a 25% discount on everything! So far I’ve consistently kept three out of five items in each box; that 25% discount has tempted me in the past but then I’d come to my senses and remember not to buy stuff I didn’t love just because I could get it for less.

So, today I received what was probably my sixth or seventh fix; I’ve lost track of how many I’ve gotten, but I get a fix every other month. And March 2015 marks the first ever box where I decided to keep all five items and take advantage of that generous 25% discount!

So, wanna see what I got? Crappy selfies ahead (I was too excited to wait for my husband to come home and take pics for me)! Here’s my March box with the five items:

IMG_4439The first is a Loveappella Davidi Button Detail Knit Top ($48).

Loveappella Davidi Button Detail Knit Top - Stitch FixIt’s probably my least favorite piece in this fix, but I do still like it. The material is very soft (Stitch Fix always sends soft pieces!) and I love the button details on the shoulders. The 1/2 sleeve will make this a nice top for transitioning into spring.

Fun2Fun Shivan Split Neck Blouse ($48):

Fun2Fun Shivan Split Neck Blouse - Stitch FixMy stylist picked this blouse because I’d pinned some floral-print tops to my style board. This top has a nice neutral rose pattern and isn’t too loud or obnoxious for my taste. (Oh, and it also goes with our bathroom, yay!  :P)

Next up is a Just Black Morrie Boyfriend Denim Jacket ($58), worn over the floral blouse and with a pair of dark Banana Republic skinnies, for a bit of a Canadian tuxedo:

Just Black Morrie Boyfriend Denim Jacket - Stitch FixI LOVE this jacket! This fix was the first one where I requested a specific item. I left a note for my stylist on my profile that I wanted a denim jacket for spring, and what she sent is absolutely perfect! I have absurdly long arms, and the sleeves are *actually* long enough for me—which is rare! The jacket was a no-brainer for me to keep.

I also got this cute Loveappella Zola Asymmetrical Striped Dress ($58)…Pasty Leg Alert!

Loveappella Zola Asymmetrical Striped Dress - Stitch FixIt may be a little hard to tell, but the dress is navy and off-white. I like the fit and the softness of the fabric, and I’m always down with stripes. Throw that denim jacket on over this dress and I’ve got a legit cute spring outfit!

IMG_4456Oh, what’s that bag you see in the above pic? That bag just might be my all-time favorite Stitch Fix item so far. It’s the Street Level Demi Fold Over Vegan Leather Crossbody Bag ($48). Behold:

Street Level Demi Fold Over Vegan Leather Crossbody Bag - Stitch FixI didn’t specifically ask for a bag, but I have pinned a few lately. And actually, I recently bought something similar in lavender from Forever21, but it’s a touch smaller and likely terribly flammable. This is the first handbag I’ve ever received from Stitch Fix, and moments like my reaction to seeing the bag are probably the reason for the existence of the term “#nailedit.”

The interior has two separate zippered pouches so I can keep all my stuff secure, and there’s an inside zippered pocket on one side. You can’t tell from the photos, but there’s another zippered pocket on the back side of the purse. I do love me some pockets in my purses! The stud details on the front are a nice little touch, too.

Street Level Demi Fold Over Vegan Leather Crossbody Bag - Stitch FixI am so, so excited to use this bag! Bonus points for being vegan leather, too! Most of the bags I’ve been using lately are black, so the medium brown color is a refreshing change for me.

Without the 25% discount and $20 styling fee credit, these five items would have set me back $260—more than I usually spend in one sitting. But minus the discount and styling fee, the total damage was $180, an average of $36 per piece. That price doesn’t shock my wallet too badly, considering I don’t do this monthly.

The verdict? Two artfully polished thumbs up for my most recent Stitch Fix! What I love about the service, and the main reason I continue to use it, is the fact that it forces me to try pieces I would typically not look at twice while shopping. Because of Stitch Fix I’ve stepped up my styling game and am now wearing more “adult” clothes as opposed to boring ol’ t-shirts. I also love that they send me affordable brands I’ve never heard of—it’s always nice to be exposed to new designers.

This fix was spot on for me, but what happens when you don’t like some of the items? That’s totally fine. Stitch Fix makes it easy for you to return whatever you don’t want to keep. Each fix includes a pre-addressed, postage-paid envelope so you can seal the return pieces inside it, then drop it in any USPS mail box within three business days. Convenience is *VERY NICE* (I wrote that in my Borat voice).

One more thing to note is that when you log on to tell Stitch Fix which pieces you’re keeping or returning, you can give specifics on why you liked or didn’t like them. They will then use this feedback to better tailor your next fix! It’s truly a brilliant website idea and I’m so glad they’ve created this experience for us to enjoy.

If you’re interested in trying out Stitch Fix, please sign up using my referral link! If you schedule a fix, I’ll get a $25 credit for referring you…so THANK YOU in advance.  🙂

SF_Bottom_Affiliate_Banner

Leave a Comment

